Search

Digital Question

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2005, 03:47 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Digital Question

Just a quick question before we shove off out of the cold Chicagoland air for something better in Tico-land- We have a 5 megapixal digital camara. I have two questions- 1) how many photos will I shoot in a week (we have 3 children and are heading to La Paz, Arenal, MA and San Jose). If anybody would care to estimate I would appreciate it. I am thinking I'll be bored of shooting after 50 a day (350) total but I have never been there. Secondly, I am new to the digital camara world- how do the memory disks do through airport x-rays? Do I need special lead envelopes, etc? Mucho Gracias- only five more days!
Old Jan 28th, 2005, 05:14 AM

With a 35mm, we probably shoot in the neighborhood of 200 shots.

This is our first trip with the digital camera and are taking a 512mb card and a 128. I can't get a grasp on how many shots this 512 will actually hold. In talking to a salesperson, then reading the info on the package, the answers are far between.

Also taking a one time use waterproof camera and our 35mm for backup.

At least this year, I will not have to pay for developing 10 pics of the very same tree!

Yes as newbies to the digital world, we may get a bit carried away.

Don't forget extra batteries and your charger!
Old Jan 28th, 2005, 05:28 AM

Picture-taking varies from person to person, but I'd think 50 a day would be plenty. Keep in mind that you can erase photos that don't come out right at the end of each day.

We hooked ours up to the TV in our room each evening to review what we had--erased what we didn't like, and noted some that we would do retakes of.

No problem with x-rays.

http://digicamhelp.com/x-ray-and-pho...port-x-ray.htm
Old Jan 28th, 2005, 09:12 AM
lvk