Costa Rica for 4 days

Jan 5th, 2004, 08:11 PM
Original Poster

Costa Rica for 4 days

I found a cheap ticket from Miami to San Jose Less that $200!!!

My boyfriend and I wanted to go somewhere not very touristy and quaint. Beaches and rainforests if possible. He has already been to quepos and Jaco if that means anything (so not there again). Any suggestions? It is my first time though.

Thanks
Jan 6th, 2004, 08:37 AM

How much time do you have because if you want beaches AND rainforest, you'll need to stay in two different locations.
It's been awile since I've been to La Fortuna (Arenal Volcano) but it used to be quaint...although it is 'touristy'. The town near Monteverde Rainforest is 'quaint' but not easy to get to and most people only stay a night or two there. Mal Pais is a 'quaint' little beach town, as is Montezuma with the latter being more of a 'hippy' destination and Mal Pais being more of a 'surfer' destination. And then there is the Osa/Drake bay area with forest and beach combined, but you'd have to stay and eat at one place as it's rather isolated so you stay/eat at the 'lodge' of your choice. Do a search for Costa Rica on this board and get a guide book then ask more specific questions about the area(s) you might be interested in. Happy planning!
Jan 6th, 2004, 09:31 AM

Hi,
How did you get tix so cheaply? I got tix from Miami to San Jose in June 04 for $240 and thought that was a great deal.
Jan 6th, 2004, 11:19 AM