Search

Brazilian Wine ?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2nd, 2004, 12:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brazilian Wine ?

While I understand the wines of Argentina and Chile, I have little knowledge of those from Brazil. Can anyone give me some opinions / recommendations please ? Thanks a lot.
Old Jul 2nd, 2004, 07:38 AM

Brazilians are not noted for making good wine but they are noted for making other things good. Don't bother yourself with this one, if you want to go nacional while in Brasil stick to the beer or cachaca. I like wine myself and I eat in a lot of Italian restaurants when I am in Rio and for the most part the good restaurants have a full wine list I usually go for the Italian wines which I prefer. What I usually see Brazilians do is before dinner have a caiparinha or some cachaca with fruit juice other than limes before dinner and during dinner they drink beer because its hot and because its cheaper. Even me sometimes I find it is too hot to drink my favorite red wines.
Old Jul 2nd, 2004, 01:17 PM
Original Poster

I suspect it will not be too hot in August when we will be there. In our travels we visit many wineries and regions and hence I always like to find out about what is local even if the industry is just emerging. It sounds like the Brazilians may prefer to import wine from Europe and the US before favouring other South American wine products. There are of course some great wines now from both Chile and Argentina. I am thinking that maybe we should also visit the Mendosa area of Argentina where there has been a lot of progress in wine making and what appears to be great scenery.
Old Jul 4th, 2004, 03:30 PM
Original Poster

Hmmm - I understand we get a bottle of Brazilian champagne in our room - I wonder what that's like? Similarly I was offered a bottle of method champenoise from India one day and it was actually quite drinkable and not overly sweet.
Old Jul 4th, 2004, 06:59 PM

There is a Brazilian version of Moet Chandon.