Search

Advice on choosing tours

Search this Thread

Old Aug 4th, 2005, 11:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice on choosing tours

I am planning a 5 day trip (excluding the arrival and departure days) to Cancun. This is my first time being there and I am thinking of joining 3 tours (3 days total and relax on hotel beach or explore downtown for the rest). I decided to go to Chichen Itza for sure as I heard it has some good archeological remainings. I can't decide the rest two and I was wondering if anyone could make recommendations. Places I am considering are:

Isla Mujeres
Cozumel
Tulum/Xel-Ha
Xcaret

I would like to do snorkeling at a place which has good visibility and coral reefs. It seems like Isla Mujeres is popular while Cozumel is more beautiful. Any suggestion on choosing between the two? Also, if I visit Chichen Itza, is it worth to visit Tulum ruins? How good is the snorkeling at xel-ha and xcarlet?

Also, which tour companies should I pick for these tours? I am thinking of booking in advance before the trip to save money and time. I looked into expedia and travelocity.com and saw the options provided by the companies like Best Day Tours or Olympus Tours. I heard some tour groups waste a lot of time picking up and gathering people at the hotels and I was wondering if these were the case. Does anybody know anything about the quality of the tours provided by these companies? Is it better to book tours while I'm in Cancun through concierge? Are smaller companies/ind. tours better?

I was thinking about all inclusive option provided by the Sun Palace Resort which also includes free tours and excursions. Are they of good quality? I know it's money-saving but if it is waste of time, then I'd rather spend my vacation joining other tours. Any advice on tours provided this resort would also help. Thank you.
Old Aug 8th, 2005, 07:56 AM