Yet another SW Itinerary question

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21st, 2006, 05:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I just jumped on a great fare for late May from JFK to Shannon. We are experienced European travelers but this is our first trip to the Emerald Isle. For some reason I am having a really difficult time trying to piece together an itinerary without too much back-tracking or redundancy. I have searched the forums for other's ideas but still can't pull it together.

We are arriving in Shannon at 9:40AM on Monday, May 22 and will leave from Shannon on Wednesday, May 31, giving us 9 nights to divide our time. We are active adults who love hiking and cycling but enjoy museums and cultural stops as well (I am an art curator by profession). We will rent a car.

A stop in Galway has been highly recommended by a good friend who has visited there three times, as has the Bunratty Castle & Folk Park (we thought we would do that the day before we leave for NY). Here is a list of our must-sees, with a B-list for things we can choose from to fill our time.

A-List
Galway
Cliffs of Moher
The Burren
Dingle
Killarney National Park
Muckross Abbey

B-List
Ring of Kerry (redundant with Dingle?)
Doolin (overnight)
Kinsale (no interest in Blarney Castle)
Connemara National Park

We have no interest in Dublin for this trip, as we will probably be returning with my MIL within the next five years.

Many thanks,
Eva
Old Jan 21st, 2006, 07:22 AM