Reload this Page >

Why are entire threads deleted?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 31st, 2001, 08:58 PM
Tim

I have been using the forum for 6 months now, and I must admit, I still do not have its behavior figured out. I replied to a post yesterday, and now there is no trace of even the original thread. I started a thread once and within 2 days it was deleted, yet some seem to live forever. There was no profanity or off color comments. <BR> <BR>Whats the deal? <BR> <BR>Tim

Old Oct 31st, 2001, 09:08 PM
fodorssux

Fodors is screwy, thats the deal. They censor all over the place, sometimes for no reason. I say, if a post or reply is related at ALL to travel, unless there is profanity, LEAVE IT ALONE. I've never in my life seen any internet forum where posts are deleted.

Old Nov 1st, 2001, 02:42 AM
Mme. Figuier

To answer your question: <BR> <BR>Poorly trained, poorly supervised employees, exercising discretion under ill-defined standards that they do not understand, under circumstances without accountability for either their zealous unnecessary deletions or their uncaring failure to delete where they should

Old Nov 1st, 2001, 03:39 AM
Matson

Often because they deserve to be. <BR> <BR>In some other thread, an editor explained that the issue is sometimes copyright infringement (someone cut and paste a whole article), sometimes seriously offensive language (when it's too hard just to delete a single post, they delete the whole thread), sometimes utter irrelevancy to travel issues. <BR> <BR>I suspect overloding of the site is sometimes a problem too. <BR> <BR>I've occasionally had a thread I contributed to disappear-- ultimately, I don't mind. I either re-post or move on. There are more serious worries. <BR>

Old Nov 1st, 2001, 06:19 AM
Mme. Figuier

Yet other vicious threads that should be deleted are not, in spite of requests from several people.

Old Nov 1st, 2001, 06:25 AM
al