Reload this Page >

Where to stay in Loire, Aug/Sep 99

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 1999, 12:32 PM
Kavey

Hello All, <BR> <BR>Firtly thanks to all of you for your replies to my previous questions about Loire/ Bougogne. They really helped me to focus my plans, though I am still not as clear as usual. (This is a first for me, as I am usually the one who helps all my friends plan their holidays, and I work in the travel industry!!) <BR> <BR>I noticed some of you have stayed in some of the Relais and CHateaux and Fodors Country Inns properties such as Domaine des Hauts de Loire, Chateau de Chissay, Chateau d'Artigny to name a few. <BR> <BR>I would like to ask a few questions to those of you who have stayed in such places. <BR> <BR>1) When prices for rooms _start_ at 680 francs did you stay in these price rooms or opt for the more expensive rooms? Did anyone see the rooms which would cost 680 francs? How specific where you about which room you wanted and how much you could afford when you booked? E.g. Did you say "I want a room for up to 750 francs" or did you just ask for whatever was available? <BR> <BR>2) Some people have recommended staying in Tours, others in Amboise and others in the countryside between towns. Obviously this is a personal preference but here are my main interests which might prompt a few more thoughts from you: We enjoy wondering through an area with a choice of restaurants in the evening where possible, and choosing on the spur of the moment. This means we need to either stay in a town or be within close driving distance but makes me lean towards staying in a town. However we dont tend to stay up late in local bars in the evenings, rather we get up early to sightsee. This makes me lean towards quiet countryside places again. I am a light sleeper and traffic disturbs me, this makes me lean towards the countryside.... <BR>You see my dilemma. I have never been this indecisive before regarding a holiday, EVER!!! <BR> <BR>3) Can I email y