Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What does everyone do for a living, how much money do you make, how much do you spend each year on travel?

Search

What does everyone do for a living, how much money do you make, how much do you spend each year on travel?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 22nd, 2000, 06:38 AM
Mikey

After spending a few months reading posts on this site I am really curious how much people spend on travel each year and what kind of jobs they have. Curious about the annual income of people here and/or what percentage of their income is spent on travel. I am a middle-level manager with a high-tech company, my wife is a part time nurse. We make about $125K/ year. We ususally spend between $5K and $12k a year on travel. We do not have kids which helps.

Old Dec 22nd, 2000, 06:47 AM
abe

Wow, to me that sounds like a lot for travel! I actually LOVE to travel and I believe my husband and I do it more than most, but we could never spend that much! I am an attorney and he works for the U.S. Treasury Dept. Together our income is about $175k a year, but in living in downtown Chicago where the cost of living is OUTRAGEOUS that isn't all that much. We don't have children either but we are just starting out and have house payments, car payments, student loan payments etc. etc. We take a big vacation every other year in addition to a bunch of long weekends and spend about $6k on off years we just take small trips and spend about $2500. <BR> <BR>If you are able to spend that much on travel, you are very lucky and I envy you!!! We are hoping to be that way when we retire about 30 years from now!!

Old Dec 22nd, 2000, 07:00 AM
George Duhhhbya