Well, I've Never Been to Spain

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 13th, 2004, 05:54 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Looks like our two mom's trip will be to Spain in early to mid-February for 10 days. Still working out the details but we'll either fly into Paris and take a train to start our journey or fly directly into Madrid. I'm just beginning to get info together so if anyone out there has ideas for an 8 day tour (assuming a travel day on each end) I'd appreciate it. We're looking for easy days without packing and unpacking every day or two. I'm just not sure what is do-able in our time frame and what absolutely should not be missed. Thanks
Old Sep 13th, 2004, 06:10 AM

I've done the rail trip from Paris to Madrid several times and it is fun..FOR ME!!! But I wouldn't waste any time doing that unless that is the ONLY way you can get to Madrid..or you are a big rail buff.

Have a great trip.
Old Sep 13th, 2004, 06:38 AM
Original Poster

not necessarily big rail buffs but my companion has mucho miles on United and wants to use them. I seriously doubt we'll rent a car so having good access to the trains will be important where ever we end up on our route. Would Bilbao, Madrid and Barcelona be do-able?
Old Sep 13th, 2004, 06:58 AM

You should be able to use UA miles to get directly into Spain as there are plenty Star Alliance partners that fly there.

I absolutely loved Andalucia. You can get from Madrid to Seville on the fast train in about 3 hours. Once there, it's pretty easy to drive around the whole area - Seville, Cordoba, Granada, plus all the little "pueblo blanco" like Ronda and Arcos de la Frontiera. It's got amazing scenery and architecture (Moorish). One of my favorite places of all time.
Old Sep 13th, 2004, 07:15 AM
Original Poster

How will the weather be in February? I'm concerned when I read about frigid winds and snow near Madrid.
Old Sep 13th, 2004, 08:01 AM

Received 21 Likes on 2 Posts
"Well I never been to Spain"