Want to maximize miles earned

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 23rd, 2007, 05:26 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new at the miles accumulation game, so bear with me. I have earned a lot of miles, but probably not enough to make a dent in the cost of this trip (plus my travel dates are pretty defined based on family obligations this vacation).

I will be traveling to Ireland and London with my two kids and mother in June, departing Boston. I was planning on charging the trip on my AA-linked Visa card, flying Aer Lingus (part of AA's One World program) Boston to Shannon, then from Dublin to London and back to Boston from London (thru Dublin). I also wanted to stay two nights at a Hilton while in London. I will also need to rent a car for the five days I'll be in Ireland (no particular rental company in mind yet).

What is the best way for me to earn points on this trip? Will I need to call the airline directly to book my flight? how about using Orbitz or Expedia? Any tips?
Old Jan 23rd, 2007, 05:43 PM

The best way to use your card is to charge as much stuff as possible in Dollars in the US. While in Europe, don't use the AA card for anything. You'll incur a 3% currency conversion fee on top of the 1% Visa charges (I think that's what my AA charges), which will cost you more in hard dollars than what you will earn in miles (do the math to convince yourself of this). If you have a brokerage card, or a Capital One card, they don't charge these conversion fees (or not as much), so use those cards. Use your ATM card to get cash (no fees), I believe. Never use your AA card to get cash in Europe.

math
3% of $50,000 worth of purchases in Europe is $1,500. You get a very restricted free trip for the 50,000 miles you have earned with these purchases - but you've paid an extra (un-necessary) $1,500 for it. I bet you can get a flight from Boston to anywhere in Europe for less than $1,500.

Stu Dudley
Old Jan 23rd, 2007, 05:51 PM