Visiting St Peters Basilica in May

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 24th, 2016, 06:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can anyone tell me what the queues are like for security in the late afternoon?
I think I've read everything I can find on visiting the Vatican but still can't make a decision. I will be booking a ticket to the Vatican museum so we can see the Sistine Chapel, and I know about the left door and the right door to exit BUT I'm concerned we will be not allowed to use the right door so we'll have to walk all the way around and join the queue outside the basilica. I also know I could book onto a tour of the museum and St. Peter's and then it wouldn't be a problem BUT I'm not really keen on tours. So I thought we would go to St. Peter's early in the morning or late in the afternoon BUT I'm not good at getting up early.
Old Jan 24th, 2016, 06:53 PM

Do you know google? Feed "st peters queue images" into google search and you see what queues look like in the afternoon. You can enter St. Peters with a short security queue well before 9am. I have entered the Basilica around 5pm one time. While it seems to have gotten shorter than mid day, it was still much longer than at 8am. Inside was a very very crowded even at that later afternoon.

Early bird gets the worm
Old Jan 24th, 2016, 08:39 PM

This is one time when it pays to get up early. I've seen lines start forming at 7.30am. There is nothing like being one of the first inside the Basilica.
If you're planning going some time this year, remember it's a Holy Year so lines are going to be even longer, with people entering the Holy Door even being given timeslots to avoid congestion.
Old Jan 25th, 2016, 02:26 PM