Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Villa L'Olmo in Impruneta, any feedback?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19th, 2001, 05:29 AM
curious

I am just beginning to investigate rental villas in Tuscany for next summer. We want to be as close to Florence as possible and also close to Chianti. This place seems to be in an ideal spot plus it has a pool, which is a must for our 9 and 12 year old sons. Has anyone stayed here and can comment on it? Thanks.

Old Oct 19th, 2001, 06:13 AM
leo

curious, <BR> <BR>I do not know anything about the particular villa, but I did drive through and stop in Impruneta several different times. It is just off the main road from Florence and at the "entrance" to Chianti. It was semi-industrial area. We drove around the town looking for a grocery and ATM and the parts I saw were not very interesting. I think that your could find a much nicer city to meet your requirements. How many days will you actually go into Florence? and how do you want to get there? Car, bus, train- there are lots of options in smaller more beautiful towns. For example, the town of Greve is very interesting, and the countryside is just beautiful and has bus service to Florence several times a day. We stayed east of Siena, and took the commuter train into Florence -it was a direct shot about 30 mintues- much faster than driving on a weekday. Plus we could drive into Siena for dinner. Perhaps there are pretty parts of Impruneta. Others can inform you of them. good luck <BR> <BR>Leo

Old Oct 19th, 2001, 10:42 AM
curious