Vienna or Amsterdam?

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 09:01 AM
desperate

Vienna or Amsterdam?

Hi there! I was wandering, which one do you like most: Amsterdam or Vienna? Why? And, do you think that is possible go solo to those cities, even if you do not know a word in their language?
Thanks a lot!

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 12:30 PM
Kay

I believe I'm the only one on earth (besides my husband, and he doesn't count) who didn't like Amsterdam very much. I was way disappointed. It's interesting but not terribly and it's dirty and unfriendly. Sorry, but that's my opinion, which I know differs from tons of others on this forum.
You certainly can go there by yourself, though, and only speak English. I did like the brown cafes, art museums and the Ann Frank house, but give me Vienna any day.

Vienna is delightful, to me, anyway. A real froth of a city. You can get around there by yourself too and with only English. But I studied the heyday of the Austrian Empire and know lots about its culture and history so I am really drawn to it. Still, I have friends who were terribly bored by Vienna, so these things are always very individual as to tastes.

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 02:24 PM
Joe

I guess I'm the other person in the world who likes Vienna best. Amsterdam has it's charms, but I had a feeling that the sea might rise before I could get out. Vienna, on the other hand, is a city-lover's city. It's parks and promenades and buildings are beautiful, and it's like Paris in having 19th century grand order and sumptiousness (is that a real word?) successfully integrated into a medieval city. It's just a thoroughly enjoyable place to be. Language is not a problem in either place. In addition to all the standard sights in Vienna, I found the Freud museum especially interesting.

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 03:44 PM
Mary

Definitely Vienna.

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 09:24 PM
April