Venice-Florence-Pisa-Rome

Old Nov 2nd, 2014, 05:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Venice-Florence-Pisa-Rome

Hi everybody,

This is my first time in italy and I have 8 days to spare. Please advise on how many days would I need in each of these places. Im planning to travel by train and will celebrate Christmas in Rome. Also if I have missed out anything.

Thank you

Em
Old Nov 2nd, 2014, 05:50 AM

Well, 4 places in 8 days comes out to 2 days each or about 1.5 days after travel. In only 8 days I think two stops are better, Rome and one of Venice or Florence. You can do Pisa as a daytrip from Florence. Rome needs a lot of time.

Personally I'd pick Venice. Nice to be there when it's not so crowded. Florence has more museums, good for winter visits, but the countryside won't be at its best.

To cut more travel time, you could fly into Venice or Florence/Pisa airport and fly out of Rome -- or vice versa. (Should cost the same as round-trip. Use the multi-city option on airline websites.) If you already have your plane tickets, might be worth a change fee.
Old Nov 2nd, 2014, 06:08 AM
GLM

What a fun trip. I definitely agree with Mimar regarding 2 stops in 8 days versus 4. That blow and go approach might leave you too tired to enjoy certain aspects of the trip on the final days. You could spend your entire time in Rome & Venice, IMO.
Old Nov 2nd, 2014, 06:56 AM

Day 1 - arrive Venice mid-morning, get to hotel, 1/2 day for recovering from Jet lag, rest, walking. Stay in hotel near train station so you can leave luggage the next day while you tour and pick it up quickly to catch train.
Day 2 - Venice, sight see until 4:00pm. Train to Florence in time for dinner. Sleep in Florence.
Day 3 - Florence
Day 4 - day trip to Pisa and Luca, sleep in Florence
Day 5 - travel to Rome, arrive mid to late morning. 1/2 day for sightseeing
Day 6 - Rome
Day 7 - Rome
Day 8 - depart

Rushed, but best you can do if you want to visit all four places.