Search

US iphone in UK

Search this Thread

Old Sep 12th, 2019, 05:27 PM
guy
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
US iphone in UK

Hi all -- We leave for England on Sunday but I'm just learning about US phones needing a UK SIM card. Found this online from years ago. Is the situation still the same?

We bought a card at Heathrow when we landed and got a WAY better deal than anything we found online before we left. The card was the same 1 GB with a lot of minutes (can't remember, wanted mostly for the internet) deal we'd seen online for like 20-25 quid but had 10GB "FREE" because we got it at the airport on a special deal. So you don't need to buy ahead.
Old Sep 12th, 2019, 05:37 PM
Forum Moderator

Moved to Europe Forum
Old Sep 12th, 2019, 06:33 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
>>but I'm just learning about US phones needing a UK SIM card<<

Might or might not. Who is your carrier and what sort of plan do you have??
Old Sep 12th, 2019, 07:27 PM

I have AT &T and I just bought one of their European plans, they have different ones so pick what works for you. I was gone a month and actually I didn't use one bit of data but it depends on how you use your phone. I used airplane mode when out and about and used WiFi when ever it was available. I don't have a lot of stuff stored on my phone, don't pay bills etc, so wasn't too worried about using WiFi. I also turned off a lot of my apps that I don't use or rarely use.

We also had an advantage in London because the hotel provided a free phone that we could use as GPS and make all local calls for free so we used that a lot.

I downloaded an app called Hang Outs and used that to call the US for free. The person I was calling didn't need that app. I had a friend call me, didn't know I was in Europe, and I told her to hang up and I called her back on Hang Outs. I of course was on the hotels Wifi anytime I was in the building.