Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Unbiased opinion on Spain itinerary needed

Search
View Poll Results: Which would you do?
Extra day in Madrid area and skip Granada?
20.00%
Skip day trip from Madrid and go to Grenada?
60.00%
Other?
20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread

Old Feb 10th, 2024, 12:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My wife and I are heading to Spain for our 20th anniversary in April and will be there for 9 nights (I know too short, but trying to make it to Japan this year also with the kids, so it’s what we could swing).

A little background. I lived in Madrid for 1 year about 23 years ago while I was a student. I love it there and feel like it’s my second home. My wife and I still have not been together.
While I lived in Spain I traveled pretty extensively throughout the various regions and repeated a number of places, both with friends and school tours, etc.
In Andalucía I have been to Granada a few times, Sevilla a couple of times, Cordoba and a bunch of smaller towns in the area. I still have not seen any of the white towns or Cadiz (where my host mother was from).
In the Madrid area I did a lot of day trips, Toledo ( a few times), Avila, Segovia, El Escorial, Cuenca, Aranjuez, etc.
My wife wants to really have a good feel for Madrid, to see the places I really loved, where I lived, etc. She also really wants to go to Andalucía to see Sevilla, the white towns, etc.
We want to focus on those two areas this trip. We hope to come back next year with our two boys to see some of northern Spain and possibly some other nearby countries (and possibly Granada).

So here is where I would love to hear some of your thoughts. The question is whether to spend one more day in Andalucía, which would specifically be to see the Alhambra in Granada, or to spend one additional day in the Madrid area to have more time to take an additional day trip to Cuenca, or Segovia.