Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Trying to remember title of Spanish movie - HELP!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 19th, 2006, 07:47 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is starting to drive me crazy. When I studied in Sevilla for a semester in 2001, one of my professors showed our class a
Spanish movie. It was fairly recent, so probably released in the late nineties. I canNOT remember the name of it, but I remember some of the details. It was a "forbidden love"-type story, and I think the male character may be a flamenco dancer. The girl's family does not approve of her relationship with him. I remember him driving a motorcycle, wearing a black leather jacket... And I think her family owns a restaurant. Sorry, the details are very foggy - can anyone help?
Old Apr 19th, 2006, 08:12 PM

I think you are thinking of "La Venganza Inevitable"
(orig. a book my Pérez Reverte).

In case this jogs your memory, some flamenco/gypsy culture movies are:

Vengo, Polígono Sur, Lola Vende Cá

Flamenco, Carmen, Bodas de Sangre, El Amor Brujo Sevillanas (all 5 by Saura)

Tell me if that was any help.
Old Apr 19th, 2006, 08:58 PM

I meant to say "la Inevitable Venganza"
Old Apr 19th, 2006, 09:38 PM
Original Poster

Thanks, laclaire. I tried looking up both "La Venganza Inevitable" and "La Inevitable Venganza", but didn't find anything. I did find some of the other films, but none looks like the one...

For some reason, I thought the title had something to do with a shawl. I looked up "Mantilla" but found nothing. I also thought it might have been "Gitano", but I don't think it is.

So in short, I'm totally confused. More plot details: I think the reason the girl's family is against the male character is because he is a "gitano" and they look down upon this. And I remember the film being kind of dark, in terms of the cinematography...

Just trying to remember more details. But thanks for your help!