Reload this Page >

Trip to Norway (Fiords)

Search

Trip to Norway (Fiords)

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20th, 1998, 10:22 AM
Les Feinstein

Trip to Norway (Fiords)

I'm just beginning to plan a trip to Norway. Would like to take 2 weeks, concentrating on a cruise through the fiord country, and driving to other areas of Norway and Sweden. Can anyone recommend an itinerary (i.e., where do we start the cruise, where to fly into, do the driving before or after the cruising, best time of year, etc.)? Also, if you've had experience with any of the cruise lines, I'd appreciate hearing about them.
Thanks.

Old Apr 20th, 1998, 11:44 AM
Arizona

Les, we went to Norway, Sweden, and Denmark last August. We flew from the States to Amsterdam and on to Oslo. From there, we went by rail west to Bergen where we caught a ship northbound to Kirkenes, beyond the North Cape. This whole package was arranged with Bergen Lines. Their service, tickets, hotels, etc. were completely satisfactory in all respects. The ship was the Polarlys (Northern Lights), a "hurtigruten" (coastal route) vessel that handled freight and passengers. New, it was spotless clean, the food excellent, and the service prompt and courteous. We took advantage of several optional shore excursions as well as getting off in various cities to stretch our legs. The ship follows a sea lane sheltered by islands from the North Atlantic's high seas. Sort of like going from Seattle or Vancouver up the Inside Passage to Alaska. We stopped and went ashore at such places as Alesund, Trondheim, Bodo, Tromso, North Cape.

We flew back to Oslo via Tromso from Kirkenes, stayed a couple days in Oslo, and went to Stockholm by train (excellent). After a few days, we went to Copenhagen via rail to visit old friends who put us up for almost a week. Then home.