Search

Trip to Ireland including Genealogy

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29th, 2020, 03:14 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trip to Ireland including Genealogy

Hello!

I am starting to plan a summer journey to Ireland which hopefully will include some ancestral sites. I have been researching my Irish family lines for about 20 years. I have decided to make at least 2 trips to Ireland. The second trip will include Sligo, Cavan & Northern Ireland.

This upcoming trip will include Dublin (family was from the Liberties & St. Catherine's Parish), Cork (family was from Clonakilty Parish, Knockskagh/Crohane), Killarney National Park, Dingle peninsula, Cliffs of Moher, possibly Galway city. I also would like to make an ancestral stop on the way to Cork to see the townlands of Ballyraggan, Knockpatrick & Graney- Baltinglass Parish/St. Patrick's Rathvilly.

Also considering a trip to the Aran islands or Skellig Michael if weather permits, husband loves Star Wars.

I need help planning the time needed & where to stay/stop in between Dublin & Killarney NP. We will likely spend 3 nights each in Dublin & Killarney NP. We will have a car.

Would it make sense to stay in Clonakility 2-3 nights with some stops on the way? Or would you recommend another place to stay in Southwest Cork? I am interested in seeing the Famine Museum in Skibbereen & the Port in Cobh. I love anything that has to do with genealogy & heritage. I am still researching places to visit but please add any ideas that you find fascinating.

Would you take a night or two to stay around Kildare/Carlow or perhaps even Kilkenny to see the areas mentioned above plus other suggestions like Rock of Cashel? I can't make the whole trip about genealogy or my family will go crazy. Unlike Sligo & Cavan where family still owns & lives on the original farms, I do not know of existing family in Kildare or Cork. Although I could drive by every farm in each townland and imagine the possibilities.