Trip Report - Couminole Cottage; Dingle

Nov 7th, 2007, 10:23 AM
Original Poster

Trip Report - Couminole Cottage; Dingle

This is my first time posting a trip report, so just a warning - there was alot of time spent relaxing and just enjoying the Irish countryside. We were only there for a week and that's is how we wanted to spend our time. So...if you're looking for excitement - this is not the trip report for you!

Saturday, September 29, 2007
We (hubby Al and me, Jenine) left Mpls on Saturday, September 29th on a NW flight to Boston. At Boston, we checked in at the Aer Lingus counter and felt like we were on our way! Both flights were good – our first time on Aer Lingus and were very comfortable (decent food, too!).

Sunday, September 30, 2007
We arrived at Shannon on a very foggy Sunday morning around 8am. The Dan Dooley shuttle driver was great – told us all we had to remember was stay to the left and look to the right. We picked up our little Fiat and were off. It didn’t take long for Al to get the hang of driving on the opposite of the road from the opposite of the car; however, even though he got used to it, he never got completely comfortable. It wasn’t so much the opposite side of the road as it was the narrow roads and fast oncoming cars. For this reason, we considered ourselves blessed for our first driving experience to be on a Sunday morning without much other traffic. And…only 2 wrong turns (in MANY roundabouts!) the entire trip down to the Dingle peninsula – not too bad!