Travel Agent Familiar with Ireland?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 26th, 2003, 10:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time posting on this board. I want to thank the posters for sharing their very informative opinions. Based on the information on this board, I am planning to go to Ireland in March 2004. I am going to graduate school, so I am very limited to the 10 day spring break period.

I am leaning to go with CIE tours. Do any of you recommend a travel agent? I went to an agent from Liberty Travel and they knew NOTHING about traveling to Ireland. I did get a brochure and do you know if there are any discounts from the price listed on the brochure?

Thanks for any help you can provide!
Old Dec 26th, 2003, 10:57 AM

Hi Aleyda:

Couple of questions. Are you driving or looking to do the tour bus thing? Will you be traveling alone?

I'm not a big fan of the tour bus idea. They tend to go to as many places in a day as I go in a week and they zoom by amazing places and wave at them. You are also always with a crowd of people and they go to places at the same time all the other tour buses go to places so the crowds are usually substantial. I prefer the notion of getting to walk on one of those deserted Irish beaches alone (with my wife).

If you are traveling alone, you may like the tour bus idea, though it still wouldn't be for me. I'm guessing by the grad school thing that you may be part of the younger set and backpaker tours seem to have that younger theme.

If you are looking to tour on your own, this board and a few others may be the only travel agents you need. Let us know and perhaps we can save you a bunch of money and help you have lots of fun.

Bill
Old Dec 26th, 2003, 11:06 AM
Original Poster

Well, I am 36 and my husband is 41 so we are not in the youngsters category. My husband doesn't drive and with my driving skills - well-let's just say I REALLY believe the Irish will be happy that I am on a bus!