Tips for purchasing a rug in Turkey

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 27th, 2006, 07:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to Turkey in June and would like to purchase a rug for my dining room. I'm no rug expert and am trying to educate myself through articles I'm reading on the internet. It seems like a confusing pain! One article stated to buy in Cappadocia (where I will go for a couple of days) as opposed to Instanbul because there will be less hassle. I'm looking for a rug for about $500, so wool is fine, not silk. Any suggestions about how to bargain, where to go in Cappadocia, what to look for. Also, I would rather have it shipped back instead of dragging it around with me for the duration of the trip. Any suggestions will be helpful. Thanks.
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 07:49 AM

Measure the floors in your house and convert to metric if necessary. They don't want to mail small rugs so ask yourself if you really want to carry it around on the rest of your vacation. Finally, if you don't buy one, check Bloomingdale's when they have their 70% off sale. I bought one there instead.
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:06 AM
Original Poster

Thanks Neopolitan. I did just do a search. After reading some of the remarks, it seems that Wally's advice to buy at Bloomingdales makes the most sense! Thanks.
Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:20 AM
Neopolitan

I'd agree with that too. It's just that to many people it's the "idea" that they bought a rug in Turkey that makes the rug special. Rarely is it really a good deal.

Old Mar 27th, 2006, 08:35 AM

Hi Dori,

I do not know which town are you going to stay BUT if you go to Cappadocia you will find THOUSANDS of thousand carpet shops in Goreme Avanos and Urgup. The most important things is you love your carpet. walk around towns check the prices I am sure that you will find CHEAPER THEN Bloomingdale's or ABC's(also have %75 of sale here in NYC) price