Tipping in Europe

Search

Tipping in Europe

Search this Thread

Old Oct 20th, 2005, 07:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tipping in Europe

I'm sure this topic has been discussed before, but I am new to the board and would like your input. How much do you tip when you're there? I know most places add the 15% VAT on the bill and I usually leave 10% on top of that. At bars I give about 1 euro per round. In the states I usually leave 30-50%. I know this is a little high for some, but I work in the service industry and feel you must give to receive. My 10% tipping philosophy has received mixed reviews over the years, from genuine thankfulness to complete indifference. What are your tipping philosophies while in Europe? Am I tipping too much or too little? My travels are primarily through the Benelux countries and I don't want to look like a cheapskate.
Old Oct 20th, 2005, 07:41 PM

My French friends leave no tip in restaurants and in France I act as they do. In Hungary the waiters let me know as they presented the bill that the service was not included. So tipping may vary from country to country.
Old Oct 20th, 2005, 07:44 PM

Look at this post:

http://www.fodors.com/features/nfdis...124_stt_tg_toc

Old Oct 20th, 2005, 11:33 PM

Are you going to return to this restaurant or bar? To ensure great bar service; tip when you pay for first round. A savvy barman will note this and do all he can to give you premium service. Next question. Why a percentage of the bill? Why not a fixed fee?
Old Oct 21st, 2005, 01:26 AM

It does vary from country to country so you need to look at what is right for where you are.
In the UK 10% is standard and we do not tip AT ALL in bars.
Old Oct 21st, 2005, 02:33 AM
ira

Hi grey,

>I know most places add the 15% VAT on the bill ...<

That is the Service Charge.
The VAT is another fee - about 15%.

It is usual to just round up ( e.g. bill is 28E leave 30E) for good service.

Old Oct 21st, 2005, 04:01 AM