Reload this Page >

theft from rental cars

Search

theft from rental cars

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31st, 2002, 04:58 PM
anna

theft from rental cars

I have read a great deal about thefts from rental cars in Europe. Would this be a probability in small villages as in Burgundy? Any advice to prevent this?

Old Dec 31st, 2002, 05:10 PM
Melodie

Hi Anna,<BR><BR>Sadly, pickpockets and car thefts are rampant in Italy, France and Spain (primarily), and they're getting worse all the time. I recently had a client who was mugged on a train in France.<BR><BR>I'm a travel agent, and although I consider myself pretty saavy when it comes to travelling, my video camera was stolen out of my backpack in Italy in 1999 (while I was wearing it, with my husband walking next to me and no distractions or anyone bumping into us - in Lake Como of all places!) Last year someone attempted to pick my husband's pocket in Madrid.<BR><BR>That said, I (knock on wood have not had any rental car ripped off. Always keep your bags locked in the trunk, and the other thing I like to do is buy a local paper, crumple it a bit and leave it &quot;displayed&quot; in plain view. Also, don't leave any maps in the car where passerbys can spot them - dead giveaway.<BR><BR>Hope this helps!<BR><BR>Melodie

Old Jan 1st, 2003, 02:31 AM
ttt

ttt

Old Jan 1st, 2003, 02:35 AM
mpprh