Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Studying abroad summer: Salamanca, Valencia, Granada, Seville?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 14th, 2011, 01:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm currently a junior in college and looking to study abroad in Spain this coming summer. I studied abroad last summer in Madrid and absolutely loved it, but feel that going back again would be too boring and I should experience another city. I traveled on the weekends to Granada, Toledo, Santander, and Barcelona. I loved Granada but was only there for 2 days so it's kind of hard to make a judgement off of that. I also liked Barcelona with the beach, but as I'm going to try and learn Spanish fluently it's not much of an option because I felt there was too little Castillan for me to learn as much. I've read a bunch of mixed reviews on why each different city is better but I guess I'm just looking for some more opinions to help me hone down my choice. Here is what I'm looking for:

1. a great nightlife (loved Madrids!), potentially with some internationals because I am not completely fluent yet but that is not as important
2. a great atmosphere to learn Castillan fluently and practice it
3. a big city atmosphere (granted I'm from a small city in Nebraska so almost every city is huge compared to mine) but I really loved that about Madrid
4. various things to occupy free time, like cultural, museums, parks, sights, etc.

Lastly I did really love the beach part about Barcelona and the seaside feel of the marina side, and I also really, really loved Madrid's public transportation and their Metro system.

I'm looking to go through ISA so my options I've felt like are Salamanca, Sevilla, Santander, Granada, and Valencia.

So obviously I'm not looking for all of these things I just thought it would help to point out some of the things I loved about other Spanish cities I visited. Any and all opinions are appreciated! Thanks!