Winter in Europe

Search

Winter in Europe

Search this Thread

Old Jun 24th, 2015, 09:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Winter in Europe

I am just starting out planning a holiday trip to Europe. Ideally I would be leaving December 12 and coming back the 4th. With winter travel I was wondering what types of weather delays I would run into(with the trains) and how crowed it would be. As of right now itinerary would be Berlin, Prague, Vienna, Salzburg, Munich.
Old Jun 24th, 2015, 10:47 AM

Barring any huge snowstorm or ice storm or strikes, none of which can be predicted, you shouldn't run into any big delays.

As for traffic, it shouldn't be as bad as the summer but local traffic depends largely on what is going on locally.
Old Jun 24th, 2015, 10:48 AM

Hi Dues2315,

In my experience, winter (as in December) in Europe can be a really fun time, especially around the holidays. It mostly depends on the weather - heavy snow could interfere, so I'd suggest you double check the weather predictions for that period.

As for the crowds, it can get pretty intense in terms of transportation, so make sure you book ahead if you can.
Old Jun 24th, 2015, 11:33 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I once took trains from Stockholm all the way to Barcelona in the winter. I saw little snow; had absolutely no delays, but almost froze my tail off in Zurich! I don't think the places you are going will present much difficulty as others have said.

They really aren't all that far from each other, either. The train trip from Prague to Munich can be a somewhat lengthy daytime extravaganza (assuming you leave early in the morning). Enjoy your trip. Should be fun.
Old Jun 24th, 2015, 05:01 PM

We visited Vienna, Salzburg and Munich in December 2012 for the Christmas Markets. It was fairly crowded near the main markets (Munich and Vienna have many markets) but not otherwise. Hotels were not overly booked, or especially expensive. Restaurants filled up so make reservations.