Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Should I try to fit Corfu in or spend more time on Crete, Santorini, Mykonos?? (16 days)

Search

Should I try to fit Corfu in or spend more time on Crete, Santorini, Mykonos?? (16 days)

Search this Thread

Old May 23rd, 2006, 03:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi There - I could really use some help with my Greece itinerary! I will have 16 days in Greece in late Sept/early Oct. I definitely want to visit Santorini, Crete & Mykonos. I was trying to fit in another island - was thinking of Corfu, but I am not set on it if there is another better option. Was also thinking of Naxos or another island as an alternative? My travel agent said she felt Naxos had a Miami Beach feel, so I ruled that out, but not sure if that's accurate??

In any case, this is my first time in Greece and I will be travelling with my fiance - would you recommend spending more time in Crete, Santorini & Myknonos OR would you jump around a bit more and see Corfu (or another island for that matter)?

Here is what my travel agent wrote - if I do Corfu, I will have 3 nights in Mykonos & Santorini (def not 3 full site seeing days though when you factor in travel time), and 5 nights in Crete (again, not 5 full days), then 3 nights in Corfu, and 2 nights in Athens....

From my travel agent:

JFK to Athens and then same day right on to Mykonos,,,3 nights Mykonos, Ferry
to Santorini approx 3 hours, 3 nights Santorini, Ferry to Crete approx 2/12
hours hydrofoil or 4 hours by ferry. (The hydrofoil and ferry leave at 5:30pm
, 3 nights in Crete on beach then drive over to Chania for a 2 night stay. Then
fly to Athens to connect with flight to Corfu 3 nights Corfu and then fly back
to Athens for 2 night stay.

If you stayed with Mykonos, Santorini and Crete you can do less hopping around
and put more time on each island. From Mykonos you can visit Paros a lovely
quiet island

Old May 23rd, 2006, 05:30 AM