Reload this Page >

Scotland-other than glasgow, edinburgh and sterling

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 14th, 2001, 11:04 AM
lisa

I'm going to Scotland. I have been twice before and have already extensively visited Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling. Anyone have some suggestions for other parts that are not to miss.

Old May 14th, 2001, 05:58 PM
Kathleen

Hi lisa, <BR>It depends on what you like to do. I'm no expert, just repeating the info I have been given. For natural beauty I hear Skye, GlenCoe and Loch Lommond are not to be missed.

Old May 14th, 2001, 07:19 PM
steve

You probably visited Loch Lomond if you went to Stirling. <BR> <BR>My favorite place is Threave Castle - South of Glasgow. Also nearby Caeverlock castle. I also enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Katrine and another nearby lake (the name escapes me) where you take a boat to an island with a runied Priory. <BR> <BR>The drive from Stirling to Loch Ness and back was nice. Jedburgh was also interesting

Old May 14th, 2001, 11:30 PM
sylvia

We have been going to Fort Augustus for years. It's a nice little town by Loch Ness and a good base for visiting the Highlands.

Old May 15th, 2001, 01:29 AM
stu

glen coe stunning, try Crinan (Canal) on west coast, one of the most dangerous whirlpools in the world, great hotel and local. From Russia With Love filmed nearby!

Old May 15th, 2001, 01:38 AM
frank

The monuments at Kilmartin glen (north of lochgilphead),Skye, Applecross.

Old May 15th, 2001, 04:48 AM
frank

Southwest : Portpatrick,Glentrool(drive from there to Straiton),Ayr, Culzean Castle,Isle of Arran(!).Ferry from Gourock to Dunoon. <BR>Nothwest: <BR>Mainland coast from Arisaig through Morar to Mallaig(has a Skye ferry)has beatiful white beaches,is quiet, has accom,Loch Morar has a monster(called Morag - what else?). <BR>Go to Oban & get a boat to Iona,Tiree(surfing),Islay(whisky) etc.

Old May 15th, 2001, 09:48 AM
Joe