Scotland/London Itinerary Help

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13th, 2014, 10:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okay, this is my first time posting on here, I have read plenty of threads and the advice y'all have given other people has been so helpful in planning/refining potential itineraries for this trip.
So, I am planning on going for 17 days to Scotland and London in September. I am torn between two different itineraries and could use help figuring out which would be the best route, any comments or ideas too would be greatly appreciated!

Original Plan:
Day 1 Leave TX for Edinburgh (full travel day)
Day 2 Land in Edinburgh
Day 3 Full day in Edinburgh
Day 4 Full day in Edinburgh
Day 5 Full day in Edinburgh
Day 6 (travel day)Go to airport/get rental car, drive to Stirling to see Castle/ Argyll's Lodging, maybe Wallace Monument; drive to Glencoe village- stay there
Day 7 Full day in Glencoe- hiking
Day 8 (travel day) Drive to Elgol- do boat tour of Loch Coruisk, stay the night in Kyleakin
Day 9 Drive to Staffin- stop and see Kilt Rock & Mealt Falls on the way, do fossil walk later; stay the night in Staffin
Day 10 Hiking on Skye- Old Man of Storr
Day 11 Drive to Glencoe to stay the night- Are the fairy pools worth stopping on the way out of Skye?
Day 12 Drive to Glasgow- drop rental car/fly to London
Day 13 London
Day 14 London
Day 15 London
Day 16 Fly back
Day 17 Land

or

The Extra Day in London Itinerary
The itinerary is the same up until...(basically condensing schedule & knocking off a day in Edinburgh)
Day 5 Pick up rental car drive to see Rosslyn Chapel, drive to Linlithgow Palace & finish drive to Stirling- stay the night
Day 6 See Stirling Castle then drive to Glencoe
Day 7 Short morning hike in Glencoe, then drive to Elgol to do the boat tour of Loch Coruisk- stay the night in Kyleakin
Day 8 Drive to Staffin
Day 9 Hike Old Man of Storr
Day 10 Drive to Glencoe
Day 11 Drive to Glasgow/fly to London
Day 12 London
Day 13 London