Scotland by car or rail??? - advice pls

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 20th, 2004, 06:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello, I am going to Scotland for 17 days starting August 27th and would greatly appreciate any input or advice you might have (this is my first time to Scotland). One of the things that I am considering is whether to rent a car or to get a Rail Pass. I have heard that the West Railway Line from Glasgow to Mallaig is stunning, but am wondering if a car will cut down on traveling times? I would also love to get away from the cities and am not sure how reliable public transportation is. Here is my draft itinerary (open to any suggestions you might have):

1) Arrive 8am - Glasgow
2) Day trip to Blair Atholl for Bowmore Blair Castle International Horse Trials and Country Fair?
3) Glasgow to Argyll
4) Ardrishaig, Argyll - Pony Trek; evening in Edinburgh
5) Edinburgh
6) Edinburgh
7) Edinburgh to Inverness
8) Inverness
9) Inverness - Braemar Gathering?
10) Inverness
11) Inverness to Skye via Kyle of Lochalsh
12) Skye (lodging in Sleat)
13) Skye
14) Skye to Ft William
15) Ft William
16) Ft William to Glasgow
17) Glasgow, return to NYC

As a side question: I am a young woman travelling alone and have read that Scotland is pretty safe, just wanted to double check that this is true.

Thanks!
Kat
[email protected]
Old Jul 20th, 2004, 07:28 AM

You are going to have a wonderful trip - but I would re-think your itinerary. You are zigzagging all over the place. Glasgow up to Blair Atholl, back to Glasgow, over to Argyll for one day and across the counrty to Edinburgh, then up to Inverness and back down to Skye and back to Glasgow.