Rome Bans Street Vendors From Piazza Navona

Nov 22nd, 2005, 12:53 PM
Original Poster

http://ansa.it/main/notizie/awnplus/...2_1912187.html
Nov 22nd, 2005, 01:01 PM

Glory hallelujah!

If there were some way of allowing a very few chosen artisans to sell their works in the Piazza, it would be nice, but if it has to be all or nothing, my vote definitely goes to nothing.
Nov 22nd, 2005, 01:03 PM

politics and "freedom of expression" aside, plus i'm an artist myself, i have to say i'm happy about this. during past visits several years ago, i remember some vendors and artists, but for the most part, a visitor was able to quietly enjoy the atmosphere at his own pace. this past spring, i was appalled that the place had turned into a zoo. you could not stand and admire the fountain without hawkers accosting you and shoving their wares in your face, and trying to walk from one side of the piazza to the other was like an obstacle course, winding your way around all that chazarai (or however you spell it) on mats on the pavement. and beware of getting trampled on by the running illegal vendors when the police come by! hopefully now, the beauty of the place will be the main attraction.
Nov 22nd, 2005, 01:14 PM

I have mixed feelings on this. On one hand it was a festive atmosphere late at night and on the other hand it was chaotic and overrun with vendors earlier in the evening.

Well, no matter, no one is asking my opinion and I'll take Rome however it is at any time.

Nov 22nd, 2005, 01:44 PM

I was in Rome this spring and it was chaotic in Piazza Navona. I agree that a few vendors would be nice but it would be difficult to police who could be there and who could not.

I wonder if this will help or hurt the restaurant trade.

Were vendors also banned from the Spanish Steps? I remember years ago there were vendors on the steps, along the edges, but in 2000 they were no longer there.
Nov 22nd, 2005, 01:58 PM