Restaurant recommendations in Istanbul?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 4th, 2008, 04:28 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll be staying at the Sebnem Hotel in Sultanahmet for 3 nights next month and am looking for some recommendations of good food within walking distance. This is my first time to Istanbul, and I don't want to waste time on a bad meal! Thanks!
Old Jun 4th, 2008, 04:36 PM

Rami

The Garden at Yesil Ev

Take a cab to Divan in Ortakoy. This is where the beautiful people eat.

Sultanahmet is boring, in my opinion. You would do better to go out to other areas in the evening.

Thingorjus
Old Jun 4th, 2008, 05:09 PM
Original Poster

Thanks! Certainly not opposed to exploring other areas.

I should probably add that I am a female traveling alone--I've found that some restaurants are better for solo dining than others.
Old Jun 4th, 2008, 11:51 PM

Dear PDersch,

Here is a list of places serving good food around Sultanahmet.

1. Tarihi Sultanahmet Köftecisi
12 Divanyolu Cad, Sultanahmet
Istanbul 90-212-520-0566

In the heart of the Old Town of Sultanahmet on busy Divanyolu street is a row of restaurants specializing in köfte; the best is the 81-year-old family-run Tarihi Sultanahmet Köftecisi, where locals line up for heavenly smoky plates of grilled meatballs, often served with a lemon-dressed white bean salad. Wash everything down with a glass of ayran, Turkey’s national yogurt drink.

2. Sarniç Restaurant. A restaurant of the "Republican" period in a "Roman" building at an "Ottoman" street. In fact, the restaurant is Just beside Ayasofya, inside a Roman cistern as old as Ayasofya itself. This extraordinary building, with its massive stone columns and its lofty brick domes, stands at the head of a row of guesthouse forming the narrow “Soðukçeþme” Street between Topkapý Palace walls and St. Sophia. Good food, magical athmosphere and royal ambiance.

(YOU CAN TREAT YOURSELF HERE FOR THE GALA DINNER)