Ranking Europe's Trains

Search

Ranking Europe's Trains

Search this Thread

Old Aug 23rd, 2005, 12:27 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ranking Europe's Trains

I've been riding Europe's rails since 1969 - i even rode an actual in-service steam-hauled SNCF train and another one in the Brennero Pass - that's how long i've been a Euro rail buff. Before dementia sets in even more, here, in my opinion, are Europe's best train companies - by country.
1-Switzerland
2-Austria
3-Germany
4-France
5-Italy
6-Netherlands
7-Belgium
8-UK
9-Spain
10-Denmark
11-Sweden, Norway tie
13-Finland
14-Portugal
15-Greece
not rated: Eastern Europe - not familiar enough with in recent years.

I'd like to hear what other rail aficionados or just ones who've ridden rails in various countries think?
Old Aug 23rd, 2005, 12:59 PM
ira

Hi Pal,

I pretty much agree, except that the only train problem I ever had was in Germany, when all of the officials in the station insisted that our train would come in on the track at which we were standing.

When it was 12 min late, I again asked the official on the platform if this was the right place, and was assured it was.

Fortunately, I caught the tail end of an announcement, in German only, that our train would be leaving in 2 min from a different track.

You think OJ Simpson could run through airports....

Old Aug 23rd, 2005, 01:13 PM

I guess if you're trying to rank the overall system of each country, maybe your order is pretty good. But it doesn't take into account the many "special" trains. For example the AVE of Spain or the Thalys or ICE trains are far superior to any trains that Switzerland has. But I love the way you can set your watch by the Swiss trains, and how they literally meet up for virtually instand transfers that people are likely to do.