Questions from first-time traveler

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 15th, 2006, 07:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to London and Paris in May. This is my first time traveling abroad. I have a few questions that I was hoping someone here could help me answer. First, in London, I will be there for three days and nights days. Should I get a tube pass for those nights? Also, is it worth it to get a museum pass?

I will also be in Paris for three days and nights. I'm confused as to who to get to my hotel from the Eurostar. I'll be staying at the Husa Grand Hotel Montmartre at 2 Rue Calais. In Paris, I believe I will need to get a metro pass as well as a museum pass. I also saw a Paris Visite pass that gets you discounts in restaurants and such. Is that worth it? Sorry for all of the questions. I just want to get all of my ducks in a row before I go. I'm planning on purchases whatever passes I need before I go. Thanks for your help!
Old Feb 15th, 2006, 07:45 PM

Museums are free in London and the Paris Museum pass is a great deal because it puts you at the front of the line. You can get the Paris museum pass at the museums or at the larger Metro stations. No need to buy in advance. Take a look at a Paris map and figure out what sights you want to see. You can buy a pass or carnets of tickets in different numbers (5 tickets, 10 tickets etc.) and save money that way.

The London Tubes are fun but the busses are cheaper and you get to stay above ground and see the sights. Mapquest your hotel in Paris. I don't know where the Eurostar arrives but if it is Gare du Nord you will be pretty close.
Old Feb 16th, 2006, 04:55 AM
ira

Hi L,

>... to get to my hotel from the Eurostar..<

Eurostar comes into Gare du Nord.

Go to www.ratp.fr
Enter the train station and your hotel's address.

It will give you directions by metro and/or bus.

Old Feb 16th, 2006, 05:01 AM
rex

Hi.. and welcome to the Europe forum.