Questions about London trip in January

Old Dec 13th, 2001, 06:41 AM
Pearce

Questions about London trip in January

My husband and I, forty-somethings, are going to London in January for 6 days. I know, I know, that's not the best time, but we got a good deal. We'll be staying at the Inverness Court Hotel in Bayswater. Our definite sightseeing destinations are (in no particular order-except the river cruise will be one of the first things): the Tower of London, St. Paul's, changing of the guard, the Globe, the British Museum, Westminster Abbey, the Lion King, Big Ben, Kensington Palace, and a river cruise. I've been researching on the web and watching this board for about a couple of months now and there has been a wealth of information here. There are some wonderfully helpful people out there. But I still have some questions. Keep in mind-we find anything historical fascinating, we're not shoppers or partyers, we won't be driving, and we'd like some unplanned time for problems or opportunities.
1) Since we only have 6 days, and there is so much to see in London, we are not planning a day trip outside of London. I would love to, and hope I'll get a chance to someday. Is this a huge mistake?
2) I've already found that three of the things we had wanted to do will be closed at that time. Will any of the above-mentioned places be closed, and I just haven't read about it anywhere yet?
3) I've been reading that tube strikes are fairly common. Just how different will it make sightseeing using buses and taxis? Where we live we don't have a lot of experience with subway strikes, or subways for that matter.
4) I've read it here several times that after seeing several cathedrals and palaces in Europe, they all start running together. Since we are staying so close to Kensington Palace, we were planning on seeing it. Would it be a mistake to not tour any other palaces?