Provence itinerary

Search

Provence itinerary

Search this Thread

Old Feb 28th, 2005, 02:43 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Provence itinerary

I am just beginning to plan an 8 day trip to Provence in mid to late May. All your posts have been helpful. Stu can you send me your itinerary to [email protected](your email address doesn't seem to go thru). With such a short trip should I try to do western and eastern Provence (St Paul de Vence,etc) or just do the western part well? The Luberon is a must (maybe stay there for 3 nights in a small village - maybe Gordes,Menerbes or Goult) and then several nights in Uzes, Avignon, or St Remy) Would this provide good bases for driving? Are Arles and Camargue must sees? Or Aix instead? We would like a village /small city where we can eat well at our hotel or walk to restaurants as well as relax at the pool. I don't want to be changing hotels every night or two. Anyone know of the Bastide de Gordes right in the village? Thanks for your help.
Old Feb 28th, 2005, 04:33 PM

>>Stu can you send me your itinerary to [email protected](your email address doesn't seem to go thru). <<

That's funny - I've received over 400 requests for my various itineraries via e-mail. I get about 5 or 6 each day. Nobody has ever mentioned a problem with my e-mail address. Try again.

[email protected]
Old Mar 1st, 2005, 01:14 AM

I live in Western Provence. I can probably help if you tell me more about what type of experiences you are looking for.

I definitely think you would be spread thin to try to cover both Eastern and Western Provence.

Your choices of Uzès, Avignon, and St. Rémy are all great. If you go to St. Rémy, I would stop by Les Baux de Provence, which is right next to St. Rémy, as well. It is beautiful and has a great outdoor musem at the summit of the hill, with a great view over the olive trees and vineyards.

Arles is so-so. The Roman Arena is worthwhile. There is a nice Roman Arena in Nîmes, also.