Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Problems with SNCF! How can you take a train from Paris without booking in advance?

Search

Problems with SNCF! How can you take a train from Paris without booking in advance?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2nd, 2006, 02:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a Russian student. I’ve decided to try volunteering this summer in France. The problem is getting to my camp. I am flying to Paris in the end of July and I have to get to Lunel on the same day. I was planning to take the train and even looked up the train schedules at www.voyages-sncf.com. But the problem is that it says the same thing for every train: “Réservation obligatoire” (“a reservation is obligatory, compulsory”). And that is a problem for me, since I don’t have a credit card. It’s pretty hard to get a credit card in Russia (nearly impossible!).
But I just HAVE to get to Lunel on the day of my arrival to Paris. Since I don’t have a credit card, I can’t even book a place in a hostel. I’ve noticed that most trains to Lunel go through Nimes, so I tried to find tickets to Nimes for that day. But it’s hopeless: you have to book train tickets to Nimes too!!!
Does anyone know if you can buy tickets to Lunel (or at least Nimes) at the train station in Paris on the same day? I’d hate to fly all the way to Paris, get to the train station, stand out a long line and find out that I have no means of getting to the place I need (to Lunel, that is). I’d be in real trouble then.
Can someone advise something? Help!
Old Jul 2nd, 2006, 03:11 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
If the train is not completely booked, you can get a reservation on the platform just before departure. I hope that you are not planning on traveling on the 31st of July, because everything might already be booked -- a lot of people take their summer holidays strictly according to the calendar month, or the closest adjoining weekend.