please help with train from Zurich to Wengen to Milnan

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 6th, 2005, 09:19 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to this forum so please excuse me if I breach any etiquette.
This summer, my husband and I, along with our 2 sons (11 and 14), will fly into Zurich. We will then go to Wengen for 3 nights where we plan to visit Jungfrau, Schilthorn, Trummelbach Falls and such. We will then head to Milan where we will rent a car for 10 days in Northern Italy. I am having trouble determining the best train pass/tickets for this trip. Should we do a Swiss Saver Flexi Pass with a point-to-point to Milan? A two country pass? We need train from Zurich to Wengen, around Berner Oberland, and then train to Milan. We may also take a train from Verona to Bolzano or Venice.
Thank you for any suggestions or advice you may have!

Old Mar 6th, 2005, 10:57 AM

I am not a rail expert, but I doubt if you will need any pass for those legs. The pt. to pt. will likely be cheaper. Have you looked at www.sbb.ch
Old Mar 6th, 2005, 11:13 AM

For just 3 nights in the Alps, I think the best option might be the Half Fare Card. It is valid for 1-month and gets you 1/2 off any Swiss rail, gondola, lift, boat, etc. It costs 99 SF and I believe can only be purchased in Switzerland at any train station or TI. It will practically pay for itself with the discount you get for the Jungfraubahn.

I've done a fair amount of research lately on the various Swiss options since I am also going this summer, but I haven't done it from a family perspective because it's just me on my trip. There may be some family-pass options I don't know about.

Here is one from the official Swiss rail website: