Passport necessary to check into hotel

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 9th, 2006, 05:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am an American student living in Italy for the semester, and a few of us are going to Naples/Pompeii for the weekend. We know that it's not the safest place on earth, and so we're leaving most of our valuables at the house rather than taking them with us. Our biggest concern, though, is our passports. Does anyone know if we need passports to check into our hotel, or if our ID's (student and State IDs) will be enough? We have money belts, and our passports would always be in them, so what is the legitimate risk?
Old Nov 9th, 2006, 05:40 AM
ira

Hi A,

Bring your passports.

Have a copy of your passport in your luggage.

Enjoy Naples. It's not as terrible as some people say.

Old Nov 9th, 2006, 05:59 AM

Each European country has its own laws, so the title of your message should indicate which country you're talking about. In Italy, hotels must record the identities of guests for the police. I can't imagine any hotel will turn you away if you don't have a passport (Italians commonly use their driving licence as an id for hotels) but it is a good idea to take your passport with you. It's possible to conceive circumstances where you would need it.
Old Nov 9th, 2006, 06:24 AM

Since you need some sort of "identity" document you'll need the passport (what else do you have that local authorities/folks might consider valid??).

The hotel may make a copy of the info page and hand it right back to you.

Proabably just as well because now that you are over there you'll need to get used to having this form of identity with you when you travel and how to safeguard it.
Old Nov 9th, 2006, 06:50 AM

Ira, it is not a good idea to put a copy of your passport in your luggage.
Old Nov 9th, 2006, 06:55 AM