Paris metro police

Search

Paris metro police

Search this Thread

Old Dec 11th, 2006, 08:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paris metro police

Well, this is my first time posting a message on Fodors so bear with me. I have learned so much from reading travel talk posted by others. We just returned from a wonderful trip to Paris and wanted to alert other travelers about our experience with the Paris metro police. We were in Paris for 9 days so decided to purchase the one week metro pass (Carte Orange weekly pass). We asked a metro agent for assistance and after several attempts at using the automatic machines, finally got passes for all 4 of us. However, the metro agent did not give us the carte orange card that you are supposed to receive when you purchase the weekly pass. Toward the end of the week, the metro police were doing a random check in one of the metro corridors of all tickets. When we showed our passes, we were told that we must also have the orange card and that we had to pay a 35 euro fine each since we didn't have it. We explained that a metro agent had assisted us when we got our passes, but the metro policeman couldn't have cared less and was in fact quite threatening that we must pay or else the fine would double and he would take our passport information, etc. etc. Quite reluctantly, we paid him 35 euro each, or a total of 140 euro. Quite an expensive lesson, especially since we had paid for our passes and had not been informed of the necessity of having the carte orange card as well. I had read postings about the card, but that if we did not have it, the Paris metro police did not hassle tourists over it. That was not the case with our lovely metro policeman. In any event, I was very upset by the experience as it clearly appeared to be a money making activity targeted at tourists. Not very friendly...however, this has not clouded our view of Paris and France in general as everything else was truly wonderful and the people there