Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Paris, high value/price bistro/bistronomie restaurants and food activitiy suggestions

Search

Paris, high value/price bistro/bistronomie restaurants and food activitiy suggestions

Search this Thread

Old Jan 6th, 2020, 08:08 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all,
I’m headed to Paris in early March for eleven nights to celebrate a milestone birthday and am looking for current recommendations for restaurants and interesting food related activities, stores, cookware shops etc.. I’m an ex chef and I lived and went to cooking school for a year in Paris in the mid 80’s. I make it back every 3-4 four years but am looking for some fresh ideas. I’m staying in the 11th near M Voltaire. If there are any places near there great but I plan on making every night a dining adventure so will go pretty much anywhere. Language is not an issue.

As far as restaurants I’m interested in French bistro/ bistonomie type of places. 55 euros pp for a three course prix fixe menu excluding wine. I enjoy regional/rustic cooking and updated versions of classics but nothing too fusion..y or plates that are fussed over too much. Not a huge fan of foams/gels/powders etc.. Nor am I a fan of most natural wines, so no restos that serve only these types of wine. A few of my favorites from 2017 were Astier, La Regalade, L’Os a Moelle, Juveniles, Auberge Cevennes Pyrenees,

Also looking for ideas for interesting food related activities. Markets/shops/artisanal food producers, not cooking classes however. I thought I’d take a tour of the Rungis Market but reviews of tours there are not terribly positive. I’m browsing site like Lefooding, TA, Alex Lobrano, Patricia Wells etc. but am looking for some personal recommendations from the folks on this great forum. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Best,
wvdthree
Old Jan 6th, 2020, 09:29 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post