open jaw tickets/one-way/Italy

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 2nd, 2003, 09:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The posters on this site recommend open jaw tickets which I understand are one way tickets that avoid doubling back to depart from your arrival city. These of course are more expensive than round trips from the same city. Anyone have an easy way to search for these tickets because when I go to the big travel sites,I have trouble comparing prices as you have to select a couple, save them and then try to preview on one page to see what is the best deal, time, etc. Yes, I know this sounds insanely pathetic but I am a novice.
Old Nov 2nd, 2003, 09:51 AM

HI
I would describe them this way: round trip tickets from home to one city, and from another city to home.
They are NOT necessarily more expensive than to and from one destination city, especially if the same airline goes to all places.
Expedia is just one place that allows for searches such as these.
Old Nov 2nd, 2003, 09:58 AM

All my airline shopping tends to be done on AA.com with American. But there they let you click "multi city" which gives you separate places to insert two different cities. I have sometimes found with them that I can fly into London and home from Paris for less money than either city is round-trip. Don't ask me why.
Old Nov 2nd, 2003, 10:05 AM
ira

Hi pheasant,

I'm not sure I understand your problem.
"I have trouble comparing prices as you have to select a couple, save them and then try to preview on one page to see what is the best deal, time, etc."

When I do this sort of search, I find something that looks good, copy and paste it (along with the URL) to WORD and then see what the best deal on my list is.
Old Nov 2nd, 2003, 10:47 AM
Original Poster