Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Off-Topic -- But Best Cash-Back Credit Cards?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 20th, 2006, 07:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I hope that it's ok to ask here -- what're some of the best credit cards in terms cash back? There's one from Amex that offers 1.5% after spending more than $6500 (Blue Cash).

Are there some others? My cards currently give me 1% cash back.

Thanks.
Old Jan 20th, 2006, 08:32 AM
yk

I'm not an expert, but I think almost all cash-back CCs out there have standard 1% return.

Some CCs offer 5% return on gasoline, supermarket purchases, and 1% return on other purchases.

One of my CC is Shell-Citi, and I get 5% on Shell gasoline purchases.

Also, some cash-back CCs won't give you $ back until you have accumulated a "pre-set" amount. Some I've seen are set at $100. So one has to spend $10,000 on the CC before getting any money back.
Old Jan 20th, 2006, 08:37 AM
MaureenB

I like my Costco AmEx platinum card. I only pay the one $60 fee for CostCo membership to have the card. I get my rebate checks from AmEx based on all the money charged to it, wherever I shop. The rebate checks are only payable to Costco, though, which is fine with me since I shop there weekly. I don't depend on it for foreign travel or my primary credit card, though, since many places do not accept AmEx.

Old Jan 20th, 2006, 08:53 AM
Original Poster

I agree that only using Amex can be problematic. But actually Blue Cash seems like a good deal as long as you charge a lot. My understanding is this (based on my conversation with the phone rep this morning):

Everyday purchases (up to $6500): 1% cash back.

Other purchases (up to $6500): 0.5% cash back.

For each penny over 6500.01, you get 5% for everyday purchases and 1.5% for other purchases.