Off the beaten path in Italy

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11th, 2014, 06:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So im a college student planning to go on a 3 to 4 week trip to Italy in the summer of 2015. Im in the base planning stages but I want to know where can I go that I wont be one of a million tourists. Right now im thinking of hitting all basic touristy places and am looking for something more off the tourist trail. I plan on packing light and traveling by train and bus. I don't plan on renting a car but would be willing too for a couple days if it was really worth my while.

Current places I want to hit:

1.Venice
2. Cinque de Terre
3. Rome
4.Florence
5. Naples

So any little lake or mountain towns that you would suggest would be greatly aprecciated
Old Feb 11th, 2014, 08:16 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Unless you're 25 years old, the under-age surcharge will probably make a car rental rather expensive. It used to be $25 or $30 a day, but I have no idea what it is now. But if you can afford it, a car makes small, remote towns much easier to fit into an itinerary.

If your trip is 3 weeks, you've almost filled it with the destinations you listed. You wouldn't want a car in the cities, and there's no reason to have a car in the Cinque Terre. You can make several day-trips from the major cities using public transportation.

If it's 4 weeks, obviously you'd be able to add some smaller towns even if you didn't have a car.
Old Feb 12th, 2014, 01:13 AM

Well, you have piked the biggest tourist spots in Italy, so you will have plenty of company from all over Europe, North America, and Asia.

There is a good reason why these are big tourist sites, so don't feel bad about visiting them. People have been doing it since before the American Revolution.