October Amsterdam trip report

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 24th, 2007, 05:05 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just got back from Amsterdam, and thought I would share our experiences. This was our second trip there. We went with a few friends last year, and got to know the destination a little.

I work in the travel industry as a tour operator specializing in Costa Rica. I can usually be found haunting the Fodor Costa Rica forum.

Every year, I also arrange a large group trip to somewhere fun for the gang in my Mardi Gras krewe. The groups have at times exceeded 40 people, but most of the time we have 12 to 20 people. Since we now had a little experience in Amsterdam, we thought that this would be a fun place to take the gang. All together, eighteen of us traveled to Europe.

We worked it out so that most of the group would spend a full week in Amsterdam. Everyone then went in different directions. Some went to Paris, others Rome, and some to Germany. We went to Prague after Amsterdam with three other couples. My Prague check report will be in the Czech section.

We arrived in Amsterdam at 7:00 AM, and took the train to the Central Station. This was pretty easy, except that it seems that the ticket vending machines are experiencing problems with credit cards. We learned later that this was indeed the case. But at the time, we figured it was just "operator trouble" brought on by jet lag. We finally were able to get some euro change and purchased our tickets. After a short train ride we arrived at the Central Station. From there we walked the short distance to our group's lodging, "Amsterdam Escape".