NEW TV SERIES- hamlet/village inquiry

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29th, 2021, 05:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice. I am a TV researcher in the UK, currently working on a new series for Channel 4. The show will follow people who have bought entire hamlets and villages in Europe. I was wondering, does anyone know of any areas which may be good to look into? Or maybe you might know of someone who has taken on projects such as these- I've found a lot of people restoring old hamlets or complexes to turn into B&Bs and gite businesses. I'd appreciate any help you can offer! I'm predominantly looking in Spain, Portugal, France and Italy. Let me know if you have any questions, looking forward to reading the responses. All the best.
Old Jan 29th, 2021, 11:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I'm confused, you say you've found lots of these hamlets but you want us to tell you about them....

Can you name the ones you know?
Old Jan 30th, 2021, 10:26 AM

I would check on the expat groups on Facebook, people may know more. The Occitanie and the Dordogne could be areas to look.
Old Jan 31st, 2021, 08:54 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't think this fits into your vision, but.....we stumbled onto a small village about 8 years ago, near Taize (sp?), north of Lyon, which was on a bluff looking west over a valley. They were in the process of restoring the town, and the town church. The latter had an ancient mural that seemed had never been touched up. When I say the town was old, I mean REALLY old. We never saw any other town in France on our 6 trips that looked SO ancient.. Sorry I don't remember the name
Old Feb 1st, 2021, 12:10 AM

Some resort companies, such as Hapimag, have bought whole hamlets to be used as a resort compound. Check out some of Hapimag's resorts in Italy.
Old Feb 1st, 2021, 12:48 AM
Original Poster