Search this Thread

Old Oct 24th, 2018, 02:30 PM
twk
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
(Mostly) Dodging the Rain in Spain

October 5, 2018 through October 21, 2018

PLANNING:

Our 2018 trip presented my first opportunity to travel to Europe outside of summer since my most frequent travel partner, my older sister, retired from teaching. So, we decided to take advantage of this new option by going someplace that you would prefer to go to outside the heat of the summer. That led us to choose Spain, a place I had not previously visited.

As a self-employed attorney, I find that 2 weeks is about as long as I can manage to be away, so with a Friday departure and Sunday return, we would have 15 nights. Originally, one of my secretaries was going to join us on the trip, with an eye toward meeting up with her brother, who splits time between Madrid and Doha, and this objective shaped our planning, causing us to allot more time to Madrid than we would have otherwise. Ultimately, she had to back out, which left just my sister (fifty-something female) and I (fifty-something male) to make the trip.