Milan and Lake Como Info

Old Feb 6th, 2018, 10:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Milan and Lake Como Info

Hi there,

I am planning a last minute quick trip to join my husband for a long weekend while he's on a business trip. I am flying into Milan February 15, with two nights at the Boscolo Milano, which is near the Duomo. I will be on my own Thursday and Friday, he will join me on Friday night. In light of that, I am planning to take the hop on hop off bus with the 24 hour ticket to get around and see the sights. I have briefly been to Milan years ago but only for a day really, and only wandered the streets and went to the Duomo. Any can't miss sights (is the Last Supper worth it?) I want to try to get up to the roof of the Duomo this time. I am not good with heights - are the walls high? I can't be towards an edge without stressing out, but I saw a picture that made it look like the sides were pretty high (over peoples heads). Any feedback on that?

Also, restaurant recommendations around the Duomo would be great.

Saturday we will take the train to Varenna for two nights. Do I have to book tickets in advance? I know I have to book round trip in Milan because there's no ticket office in Varenna. But since this is last minute and not peak season is advanced booking necessary or can we just buy tickets at the Kiosks at Milano Centrale?

We are staying at the Hotel Royal Victoria. It looks like their restaurant gets good reviews on trip advisor, so hopefully we'll eat there one night. As it's February, so I need to make restaurant reservations in Varenna and Bellagio? We will take the ferry to Bellagio one day and probably at least have lunch there.

Any other restaurant recommendations in Varenna or Bellagio would be great. Or can't miss sights. I know that it's not the greatest of the year for this trip, but at least no big crowds!

Thanks in advance.
Old Feb 6th, 2018, 11:14 AM

Received 22 Likes on 4 Posts