May 2014 Trip

Old May 6th, 2013, 04:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
May 2014 Trip

Hello. I am new to the forums. I've never been to Europe and am looking for advice on the best way to travel to the different cities and for suggustions on where to visit.

I am a college student, low 20's, and will be traveling with a friend. We are most interested in the culture/lifestyle such as nightlife, food, amoung everything else.

Our list so far is: London, Dublin, Rome, Florence, Venice, Barcelona, Ibiza, and Madrid. We would ideally like to start in London and end in Madrid as those are the cheapest flights (from Washington DC area). Are there any other cities we should look in to? Out of that list is there any that we should plan to stay an extra night or two or any that we should skip to save time? We are planning a packed 12-15 night trip.

Finally, we plan to fly to/from London, Dublin, and between Italy and Spain. We will take the train in Italy and in Spain (ferry to/from Ibiza). Is a ferry better between London and Dublin and then between Italy in Spain or should we stick to flying?

Thanks for the help!!!
Old May 6th, 2013, 04:51 PM

Skip Florence for nightlife and food.

You've really got too many stops. This isn't just an old guy talking. Stop and think for a second: What if a Italian friend emailed you to ask how he could come to the states and see Boston, NYC, Chicago, NOLA, the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and San Francisco in 12-15 days. And reminded you he doesn't speak English and has never been to the US before! What would you say to him.?

What time of year are you going and what is the most important thing to you and your friend that is causing you to spend so much money to visit Europe? There is lots of good food and nightlife in NYC, and there are trendy beaches for the rich in the US , so what are the two of you really looking for?