Lone Female in France and Italy

Jun 27th, 2004, 01:04 PM
Original Poster

Lone Female in France and Italy

Hello Fellow Travelers,

I'm heading to Europe alone for 3 weeks next month for a little bit of an adventure before heading to grad school. This is my first time traveling alone and first time in Europe. I'll be in Paris, Switzerland,Venice, Florence, Rome and Naples. I would appreciate anything you can offer for advice/encouragement, first-hand info would be great.

I wasn't concerned about safety at all until my mom started to freak out after my aunt told her "stories" of friends' experiences: seeing somebody get mobbed by "Gypsies." My mom threatened to come with me, though my dad dissuaded her. Now I am a bit apprehensive about safety myself. I am in my early 20s. I am Asian American and won't be able to blend in, do you think that is going to make me a likelier target?

I did all my research and read almost every guidebook the last 3 months. I have a neck pouch to put all my IDs, train passes, etc. Plus photocopies of everything in my backpack. I will lock my zippers and divide up my money. And I even bought a personal alarm keychain just to ease my mom's tensions a bit. Where would you recommend putting my camera, safest around my neck?

I'm traveling through those countries by train, with several couchette reservations. Rick Steves recommends lone females to reserve couchettes instead of seats because there are supposed to be attendants around checking reservations. Are couchettes safe?

Is it okay to walk around in the above cities until about 9 o'clock in the evening? What about riding the metro in Paris and Rome at night? I know there are some places to avoid: Pigalle in Paris, Santo Spirito in Florence. Know of any other seedy areas that are located close to "must-see" areas that are best avoided at night? I am staying in the 15th arrondissement in Paris, I believe it is a safe neighborhood?